:-My Strengths-:

It is the dreaded question asked in interviews right after they ask to know a little about you… “Very well then, can you tell us about your strengths?” No I cannot  *flips table and walks out*. Honestly though, it is so difficult for me to ramble off my own talents. But in an effort to complete the list I must dig deep and gloat a bit. I took a class last year, Recreation Leadership…I cannot tell you why except that it was required, my personality isn’t suited for leading people. Anyway, our teacher made take this test that would tell us our strengths and I was pretty excited to see the results so I could know for once what I was good at. According to Strengthsquest.com my strengths are as follows:

Empathy- can sense the feelings of other people by imagining themselves in others’ lives or others’ situations.

Individualization- are intrigued with the unique qualities of each person. They have a gift for figuring out how people who are different can work
together productively.

Developer- recognize and cultivate the potential in others. They spot the signs of each small improvement and derive satisfaction from these
improvements.

Input- have a craving to know more. Often they like to collect and archive all kinds of information.

Strategic- create alternative ways to proceed. Faced with any given scenario, they can quickly spot the relevant patterns and issues.

There I am. Perfectly sliced in 5 brilliant categories. I sound pretty good huh? Nah, just be glad I’m doing weaknesses {yet!}. To be honest I really think they pegged me good. All of these play into my life in very different, very strong ways. After learning these and realizing the qualities I have, my viewpoint changed drastically. Not only did I see my potential but I learned a better way to use them with other people to build relationships. Strengthsquest.com is a very accurate, helpful sight. Sorry, it isn’t free but I think everyone should take some kind of strength finder test. I would love to hear some of yours!

strengths

Leave a Reply

